Psychology of the Superhero: A case of mistaken identity

As many that have stopped by my blog have noticed… I am stuck on discussing Batman. I would like to take a brief moment, and collect a rough sketch of the paper that will be posted here in the next couple weeks. I think that I am stuck talking about Batman because he is my favorite and other popular culture personalities resemble the Batman mantra, don’t kill the innocent. Well, they have a tendency to take it as a rule of thumb. I mentioned Dexter Morgan, from the Showtime series, Dexter. His code of honor differs from Batman’s I think would most likely be Alfred Pennyworth’s if he was a crime fighter, and that is to kill the bad guy. He saves the good people in this world. In one of the episodes it is interesting to see that he compares himself to a comic book hero, justifying his actions as a crime fighting vigilante rather than a sociopath, killing to quench the huger of his “dark passenger.” For the purpose of my discussion I wanted to look at the psychology that is being represented by these works. I want to engage specifically in a discourse that will look not only at Batman but at other superheroes with the similar agenda, using their public persona to engage in fighting crime and killing the “evil doer.” I will be looking at texts from such “The Anoedipal Mythos of Batman and Catwoman,” by Phillip Orr. More to the point, I will be arguing that Bruce Wayne’s traumatic experience transformed his mind. The subsequent transformation brought about the Batman, the true persona of the man. It is evident in Miller’s “The Dark Knight Returns.” It can also be argued that the cartoon series the Justice League poses the same idea, as does Nolan’s Batman, that it is Batman that is the true identity and Bruce Wayne is the sociopath’s Fopp public image that is merely there to gain information to combat crime, (Watch the party in Tim Burton’s Batman, and one will see that he uses hidden microphones find out why Commissioner Gordon left his party early.)

2 responses to “Psychology of the Superhero: A case of mistaken identity

  • Jacqueline Orellana

    This is interesting. So your going to try to find out why vigilates kill. I want to ask whether you will be arguing whether or not they are justified? Although, you’ll probably find out that many of these vigilantes have many reasons for killing I want to know whether you’ll be arguing for or against. Or will you have an opinion on the matter at all?

    • blkdragon

      I was thinking about doing something along those lines initially. However, after I have been looking at things a little more I wanted to look more at what identity does the character associate themselves with more. For Bruce Wayne for example, does he consider himself Bruce Wayne or Batman? But this is something that I wanted to look at also…

Leave a Reply

